Red Wings recall 15 Griffins

With the Griffins season officially over, the Detroit Red Wings officially recalled fifteen players to serve as Black Aces for the playoff run. Joining the main roster are the following players:

Thomas McCollum
Jordan Pearce
(already with the team: Joey MacDonald)

Jug Danik
Travis Ehrhardt
Brian Lashoff
Derek Meech (who must clear re-entry waivers to join the team. We’ll know Tuesday at noon if he’s cleared)
Logan Pyett
Brendan Smith

Joakim Andersson
Cory Emmerton
Ilari Filppula
Jan Mursak
Francis Pare
Brent Raedeke
Tomas Tatar

Players currently under contract with the Red Wings who were NOT recalled include Sergei Kolosov, Sebastien Piche, Gleason Fournier (who hasn’t officially turned pro yet, continuing his junior career this season), Jordan Owens, Jamie Tardif, Willie Coetzee, Chris Minard, and Jamie Johnson.

Notably absent is two-time Hobey Baker finalist Gustav Nyquist, who joined the Griffins for the last week or so of the season. It’s entirely possible that his two-year deal doesn’t kick in until next season and that he’s ineligible to join the Wings, or it’d burn a year of that contract if he did.